Pull Up a Chair (2)

Home Page Forums General Chat Pull Up a Chair (2)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 94 total)
  • Author
    PhantomF4
    Participant

In honor of @eeeooo (Schmitty, miss you bro), I thought I'd continue what he started with his friendly thread of socializing. Maybe we can break some of this tension.

Although a recent comment on one of my threads got pretty close to getting under my skin, there was something said that resonated with me:

Who is this Rob?….

Who are we all beyond avatars and user names? We correspond with each other nearly every day, but we don't really know each another.

Allow me to truly introduce myself. My name is Rob, I live in a small town called Buda, Texas (pronounced Byuda, not like Buddha) which is on the outskirts of Austin. I work in sales for a distributor of sign and print products.

I've been on and off 3D art creation since 2003, when I cut my teeth on an early version of Poser using Vicky 2 and Michael 2. Created a few pieces of art until I divorced my first wife in 2004, at which point I traded my dabbling in Poser with bar-hopping and poker tournaments. Met my current wife in 2008 and in 2012, the non-profit agency she worked for needed 3D renderings for a proposed re-model of a building in downtown Austin. I spent many nights on YouTube teaching myself how to model in 3DS Max and I got that job (probably because I did it for free). Then I took a break from 3D again until I got wind of the free DAZ Studio in 2016. Figured out the learning curve and made my first post on Rendo, which didn't get a whole lot of views (we're little fish in a big pond over there).

Like several others, I found Zone when KAT went down. I've enjoyed this site immensely and it helps keep me focused on my love of this art form by corresponding with like-minded people.