iRay Lighting Discussion

Home Page Forums General Chat iRay Lighting Discussion

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Aftyrbyrn
    Participant
    Aftyrbyrn
    Participant

So, imma start this thread here for lighting discussion and keep it going, i'm not a pro or anything, but whatever i can think of, i can usually recreate it pretty well and would love to share ideas. iRay lighting is freaking awesome, once you figure it out.

For starters, you tube some stuff. Daz3d iRay lighting techniques // volume lighting in daz3d // dust and fog in daz3d etc...

This one was pretty good for the tech stuff with dust and lighting and helping create god rays.
    [Tutorial] Creating Dust And Atmosphere in Iray

When i render in iray, i don't use any lights. I create emissive objects, usually light bulbs, neon lights etc... and set those settings. It differs from scene to scene. I'll post some examples i have done already, and some new ones to show different ideas.
    Emissive light from bow, with bright background image.

Yes, in iRay, turn off the headlamp, and go to render settings environment tab and chose scene only lighting. Then you get to really start create true light effects.
    Small Scale example of single emissive sphere with scene and headlamp off. (Remember to create a new camera // don't use the built in view cameras, you can't really disable headlamp from them)

Then you can create all sorts of types of light. I've done a distant sphere at like 100 meters in diameter at 100000s of units away, and cranked the light way up to create true sun like feeling, here are few of those
    In the billy the kid one below, created a distant mountain range, and placed the sphere behind it, played with the size and lighting to get this... (PRE POST WORK)

And after a bit of screen overlay to get the old timey look...