It's not just you. I've seen this problem in the Geometry Editor as well, where selecting polygons can be undone, but undoing a "hide selected polygons" action is not on the Undo stack. You end up having to use the "save selection set" feature before trying a hide operation, and if it isn't the result you want, you "show all polygons" and then "select from selection set" to get back to where you were.
I can't imagine this is intended behavior. If it were intended, there would be pop-ups warning that a certain action "cannot be undone", like there are for other destructive changes. That tells me it's a bug, not a feature.