Noob Questions about storage and stuff

Home Page Forums General Chat Noob Questions about storage and stuff

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    EvilMonkey
    Participant

Hi all! I'm relatively new to the Daz stuff and have a question about my content library. I've currently got the default library stored on my C: drive which is an SSD but it's filling up and I've looked into making an additional "new" content library but thought maybe I'd move the whole thing onto a larger mechanical drive (5200rpm). Would the access speed be detrimental to working within Daz or does it load all the current scene content to memory anyway?

Also I've been relatively cavalier about what content I've been putting where and as I load it all manually anyway, does anyone have any recommendations on file structure within the content library?

On a slightly unrelated note I've been on a rampage recently of trying to tidy up all my pirated zip's/rar's, using Daz's file structure as a base. Whereas they have their content (along with manifest and supplement docs) inside a zip with "IM[8-digit catalogue number]-[part number]_[Product name]", I've been doing the same for different vendors. So "RE-[catalogue number]-[Product name]" for RendErotica and "RO-[catalogue number]-[Product name]" for RenderOsity. BUT! I've found that Rendo's catalogue numbering doesn't actually make any sense! The page address gives me what I would think of a catalogue number but it's not mentioned on the product page and often the zip is labelled with a different number, even for files split into multiple parts. And searching Rendo's site with either number turns up nothing! Daz, Renderosity and CGbytes all have a SKU system why does Renderosity have one that makes no sense?