How to use provided installers?

Home Page Forums General Chat How to use provided installers?

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Fawkes
    Participant

Hey there.

I'm extremely new to DAZ and everything surrounding it.

I grabbed a couple things that came with IM0000 zip files which I presume are installers?

The zips themselves include things like Manifest.dsx and folders named "Content" like I presume a lot of files are.

This is all well and good but my issue is, I haven't got the brightest idea on how to use these installers or know what app to use TO install them. I scoured the internet to no results and I couldn't find anything here from a brief search.

If anyone could offer me some guidance I'd greatly appreciate it.

AnjaBear

USING IM000*.zip Installers

These installers are from Daz3D, and are intended to be dropped into the DIM /downloads/ folder and you then simply run DIM (Daz Install Manager) and it will install them for you.

The Manifest and Supplemental files instruct DIM where to install things and also make a deinstaller for you if you wish to remove the item later on.

Also Meta Data and info for Smart Content are contained in those 2 files under the /Content folder.

This is how the Daz Install Manager expects the files to be, so it can install them for you.

That being said - some people don't like to let DIM install anything because if you login online it may phone home and notice your files weren't bought at Daz by you.

So usually most people run Daz Install Manager in OFFLINE MODE. You can still drop the files into the location where you installed DIM in the Downloads folder there. It's usually Program Files/Daz 3D/DIM/Downloads or something to that effect, depends on how you setup things.

MANUALLY INSTALLING A DAZ DIM INSTALLER ZIP