How to make it Smart Content

Home Page Forums General Chat How to make it Smart Content

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Laser
    Participant

Hi

How to make downloaded Content into Smart Content, that is main question.

1. maybee you not use Smart Content !
    2. is Smart Content only working with 4.9 and earlier ?
    3. maybee Smart Content is impossible to get working in 4.8 and earlier ?

Since I am new to DAZ 3D, I have a lot to learn.

And to buy content from DAZ 3D main site is far to expensive, sorry that I am not millionaire.
    Install Manager seems to try erase possibility to use downloaded content from other place then the main site.

I have tested original Studio 4.9 and included content work good as Smart Content.

But I can not get any downloaded content (exe,rar,zip,unpacked) to function as Smart Content

I have tried read tips on internet, install at same place as Studio 4.9, change folder Content Directory Manager, tried use Content Package Assist Dim and so on.....

Kind regards

The King
    Participant

If the files are in DIM format you need the manager https://www.daz3d.com/install-manager-info

This is what you are looking for if not using dim files and want too.

https://zonegfx.com/forums/topic/create-dim-files-tutorial/

Some people don't use the Smart Content (if you want to do this just unzip the dim files and drop them in your Daz file library default folder location.) but I prefer it.

eelgoo

Yes, thats me.
    I do not use DIM or Smart Content.
    I have a custom runtime folder structure, & as content artists cannot be trusted to
    put similar files in the same location twice I always
    install manually.
    I always work from Content Library.

🙂

The King
    Participant

@eelgoo
    How do you keep track what you have installed? That's what I like the most of the dim system. Makes it easy for me to find files and their locations for when I want to modify them (textures, etc).